The kids are alright

Youth Week to be marked with events, awards night

By Mark Squibb | Vol 7 No. 9 (May 9, 2019)

The City of Mount Pearl is gearing up to celebrate youth.

The City has proclaimed May 12-May 18 as Youth Week.

“When council travels abroad, we brag, I’ll admit, about the youth here and the actives that you guys do,” Deputy Mayor Jim Locke told a gathering of young people at the council chamber last week. “And I know of no other community in Canada that celebrates their youth like the City of Mount Pearl celebrates their youth.”

The Youth Action Team, chaired by Alex Head, is busy planning plenty of youth events for the week, including free yoga, and an open mic night.

The highlight for many will be the annual Focus on Youth Awards, now it it’s thirtieth year.

“The highlight of my political calendar is the Focus on Youth awards,” said Locke.

Dozens of youth, adults working with youth, teams, and organizations are nominated across 16 different categories.

The various awards and their finalists are as follows:

• Female Athlete: Katheryn Cousens, Shae LeDévéhat, Kate Sullivan

• Male Athlete: Liam Marshall, Kalan Noonan, Max Tavenor

• Team of the Year: MPSH Senior Boys Hockey Team, St. Peter’s Junior

• High Grade 9 Boys Volleyball Team, Mount Pearl-Paradise YBC Bantam Boys Doubles Team

• Adult Volunteer Working with Youth in Sport: Claudette Whelan, Trevor Budgell, Chris Fowler

• Official of the Year: Lisa Sheppard, Renee Quick

• Youth Volunteer of the Year: Michael Chislett, Katheryn Cousens, Claire Osmond

• Youth Group of the Year: 807 Mount Pearl Kinsmen Royal Canadian Air

• Cadets, Mount Pearl Senior High Soup Kitchen, Mount Pearl Senior High Student Council

• RNC Youth in Service Award: Sarah Walsh, Emily March-MacCuish, Michael Chislett

• Female Youth of the Year: Elizabeth DeVilla, Sarah Kennedy, Sarah Walsh

• Male Youth of the Year: Jonathan Hunt, Cameron Kinsella, Michael Chislett

• Adult Volunteer Working with Youth, Mary Ann Hounsell

• Performing Arts Recognition Awards (Groups) – O’Donel High Jazz Band,

• Cast of “Footloose: The Musical” O’ Donel High School, Cast, Crew and Band of “Happy Days: The Musical” Mount Pearl Senior High

• Visual Arts Award: Brianna Rowe, Lily Bartlett, Megan Fitzgerald

• Performing Arts Individual Award: Megan Diamond, Grace Nolan, Gavin Hull

• Literary Arts Award: Lily Perchard

• S.T.E.M. Award: Stephanie Hynes, Shane Williams, Sarah Kennedy.

Posted on May 23, 2019 .