Big troop of Mount Pearl Skaters Gander bound

By Amy Cleary | for The Pearl | Vol. 7 No. 1 (January 16, 2019)

Mount Pearl has a lot of athletes, especially within the Mount Pearl Skating Club, which its members proved recently at the Eastern Divisional Competition.

According to Susan Dean, this is only the beginning for the athletes involved, many of whom qualified for the provincials later this season in Gander.

“The Eastern Divisional is a qualifying event for the Skate Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Championships. Eight skaters in each category from this event will move on to the provincial event,” said Dean.

Each competitor competes in a different category.

“In the divisional, it’s from Star four to Star 10, and Gold. Our pre-juveniles up to novice,” said Dean.

Each category, has a wide range of ages as well.

“Anywhere from 10 to 17,” said Dean.

Each category is judged based on the competitor’s performance.

“There are criteria that has to be met for each category,” said Dean.

Even though it’s a competition, the athletes enjoy the two-day event.

“It’s a great experience, “said Ebyni Clarke.

According to Katie Slaney, another competitor, the short program is the easiest.

“The short program is easier then the long program because it has three jumps and one combo,” said Slaney.

Slaney and Ebyni Clarke have been competing for the past four years together.

Even though both girls have a lot of talent, they are still a little superstitious.

“I have a stuffed sloth that goes to every competition with me,” said Slaney.

The provincials are set for February 15-19. But that may not be the end for the Mount Pearl skaters. “The provincials are a qualifying event for the Atlantic Championships,” said Dean.

Heading to Gander in February from Mount Pearl are: Katie Slaney, Ebyni Clarke, Jaide Russell, Juila Yang, Claire Farrell, Madison Abbott-Billard, Kara Lacey, Sarah Burry, Jenna Bradley, Madison Sturge, Rebecca Combden, Claire Bennett, Natalie Moss, Sophia Horner, Laura Rodgers, Catherine Somerton, Laura Crawley, Brianna Harty, Sarah Walsh, Kiana Ashford, Marisa Garland, Meaghan Pugh and Alex Rideout.

Dean is wishing all her club’s skaters well.

“To make them move on to the next competition,” said Dean.

Posted on January 29, 2019 .